Gloucestershire Churches together

Forthcoming Events

Special Sundays and other dates in 2019 with related links

JANUARY 18 - 25 Week of Prayer for Christian Unity www.ctbi.org.uk

JANUARY 27 Holocaust Memorial Day www.hmd.org.uk

JANUARY 27 World Leprosy Day www.leprosymission.org.uk

FEBRUARY  7 - 14 National Marriage Week www.marriage-week.org.uk

FEBRUARY 17 Racial Justice Sunday www.ctbi.org.uk

FEBRUARY 20 World Day of Social Justice www.un.org/en/events/socialjusticeday/

FEBRUARY 25 - MARCH  10 Fairtrade Fortnight www.fairtrade.org.uk

MARCH 1 World Day of Prayer www.wwdp.org.uk

MARCH 3 Church Action on Poverty Sunday www.church-poverty.org.uk

MARCH 3 Tear Fund Sunday www.tearfund.org

MARCH 8 International Women’s Day www.internationalwomensday.com

MARCH 22 World Water Day www.worldwaterday.org

MARCH  25 UN International Day of Remembrance for the Victims of Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade www.un.org

APRIL 28 International Workers’ Memorial Day www.28april.org

MAY 9 Europe Day www.europa.eu

MAY 12 - 18 Christian Aid Week www.christianaid.org.uk 

MAY 13 – 19 Mental Health Awareness Week www.mentalhealth.org.uk

JUNE 2  Environment Sunday www.arocha.org & www.greenchristian.org.uk

JUNE 10 – 16 National Carers' Week www.carersweek.org

JUNE 17 – 23 Refugee Week www.ref'ugeeweek.org.uk

JUNE  26 International Day in Support of Victims of Torture www.un.org/events/torture & www.fiacat.org

JULY 12-14 Stop in the Name of God: Nationwide Quiet Weekend  www.retreats.org.uk

JULY 14 Sea Sunday www.seasundayhero.org & www.apostleshipofthesea.org.uk

SEPTEMBER 1 – OCTOBER 4 Creation Time www.ctbi.org.uk & www.ecen.org

SEPTEMBER 8 Ability Sunday www.livablity.org.uk

SEPTEMBER 8 Education Sunday www.cte.org.uk      

SEPTEMBER 22 Peacemaking Sunday www.internationaldayofpeace.org & www.for.org.uk

OCTOBER 6 Homeless Sunday www.housingjustice.org.uk

OCTOBER 10 World Mental Health Day www.mentalhealth.org.uk & www.mind.org.uk

OCTOBER 13 Freedom Sunday www.stopthetraffik.org

OCTOBER 13 - 19 Prisons Week www.prisonsweek.org

OCTOBER 13 - 21 Week of Prayer for World Peace www.weekofprayerforworldpeace.com

OCTOBER 21 - 28 One World Week www.oneworldweek.org 

OCTOBER 24 United Nations Day www.un.org

NOVEMBER 10 Remembrance Sunday www.ctbi.org.uk

NOVEMBER 10 - 17 Interfaith Week www.interfaithweek.co.uk

NOVEMBER 17 International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church www.idop.org & www.csw.org.uk 

NOVEMBER 17 World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims www.roadpeace.org & www.worlddayofremembrance.org

NOVEMBER 19 World Toilet Day www.worldtoiletday.info

NOVEMBER 25 International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women  www.un.org

DECEMBER 1 World Aids Day www.worldaidsday.org

DECEMBER 10 Human Rights Day www.un.org/events/humanrights

 

For Methodist Special Sundays and other useful information go to www.methodist.org.uk

For CAFOD Fast Days, go to www.cafod.org.uk